PROJECT INDIGO – One boy’s adventure through time and space

Project Indigo is a site run by 9 year old Tom, who blogs about his travels around Doctor Who locations, conventions, and more. He has even met Peter Capaldi AND Jenna Coleman (super jealous!!). He has acheived so much and has an extremely bright and exciting future. I asked him a few questions to find out more about this terrific little timelord.

First of all, a HUGE congratulations on the 1 year anniversary of your blog. It is an awesome achievement and you have done so much already. I must say, I am VERY jealous that you get to see and do so much stuff and meet so many cool people from Doctor Who.

Project Indigo

Take that evil Dalek!!

How did you come up with the idea for Project Indigo?

In February 2014 I went on a short trip to Cardiff and while I was there I visited some Doctor Who filming locations. I thought I would like to visit more so had the idea of writing about them. Then I thought why not write a blog about it? I knew it would be fun, and it has been VERY fun!

Anywhere in time and space, where would you most like to travel to and why?

I would like to go a few hours into the future to see what is for dinner. Ha ha, not really. I would like to go into the future to see how technology has developed and see what interesting things have been developed to make the world a better place.

I would also like to meet my Grandad who died before I was born.

Who is your favourite Doctor?

My favourite Classic Doctor is Sylvester McCoy and my favourite new Doctor is Peter Capaldi. They both have a dark mysterious flow to them. They are all fantastic though, there isn’t one I don’t like!

What was it like meeting the 12th Doctor and Clara?

Project Indigo and Capaldi

Doctor Who, Clara and Tom…what a team!

I was very chuffed, it was absolutely great! Two weeks before, I was stood outside the Doctor Who Experience and later found out Peter was filming inside. Then I went to the Doctor Who World Tour and missed my chance to meet them there; but then I met them completely by accident – it was third time lucky! I had gone to London for a daytrip and heard there was a TARDIS in Parliament Square. As I was walking towards it I thought there were Peter and Jenna lookalikes stood there and when I realised it was them, I ran!

It was a photoshoot and they were both very kind and friendly and seem very different from their Doctor Who characters. They were both really pleased I had enjoyed watching Deep Breath at the World Tour. I felt like I wasn’t awake, I couldn’t believe it had happened. It was the best day ever!

Who would you most like to meet next?

Definitely Matt Smith, I would like to ask him all about the 50th Anniversary Celebrations and he seems like he would be good fun! Everyone I have met so far has been very friendly so I think you must only be allowed to work on Doctor Who if you are nice.

What are your goals for 2015 and for the future of Project Indigo?

project indigo bad wolf bay

Bad Wolf Bay

I would like another great year of blogging and hope for the best! In April I am going to Rome for a week and hope to visit some Doctor Who locations in Italy. In August there will be the first Bournemouth Comic Con (my home-town) and absolutely loads of Doctor Who stars will be there so I can’t wait for that. I want to go back to Wales , I love it there it is very peaceful and there are lots of fantastic locations to visit – I would like to visit the updated Doctor Who Experience which Peter was filming when I was stood outside!I have a new column in a local magazine so I hope to continue writing that, but mostly I hope to continue making new friends through my blog, that has been fantastic.

Have you ever been to New Zealand?

No! I haven’t even been on an aeroplane before , it will be my first time when I fly to Rome. I would like to though, I would love to see what it is like Down Under. One day I will, I hope. I wish I did have a TARDIS!

project indigo and drs

Tom and the Classic Doctors

What are your other hobbies, besides Doctor Who?

Things I love – I love playing video games , going on Youtube and reading and I am in a reading group at the local library. I love comics and I collect The Beano and I love watching comedy and magic. I love hockey and play it every school day, and I love watching football. I’ve been in the Scouts since I was 6 , I am a Cub at the moment and will go up to Scouts when I am 10 and a half. I am pretty busy!

A VERY busy man by the sounds of it.

Thank you so much for your time Tom and all the very best for the future.

Check out his website at anadventurethroughtimeandspace.com and follow him on twitter @DWProjectIndigo
Leave a Comment

