Interview: WHOVIAN COMPLEX

Introducing The Whovian Complex,  four awesome cosplaying whovians who cover all things Time Lord!!

1) What is thWHOVIAN COMPLEXe Whovian Complex and how did it get started?

Monica:
The Whovian Complex is a brand new Doctor Who Fan Show based out of Southern California. Created by four very passionate Whovians: Katie, Lauren, Nate and myself. It is hosted by Katie, Lauren and Nate. We try to share our passion for cosplay and cover all matters of the Doctor Who fandom.

Katie:
The Whovian Complex is a group of Doctor Who lovin’, cosplay wearin’, best friends who thought they should take this show on the road! I kid… sort of. TWC started after a group cosplay photoshoot at a local museum in Malibu, California. We mentioned in jest that we should come together and start doing YouTube videos. Pretty soon that idea turned into something serious. Now we have business cards and are granted press badges to conventions. I ask myself “what is my life?” on a near constant basis since we formed this little group that could.

Nate:
The Whovian Complex is as a group of nerdy folk, us, who wish to celebrate and share all and anything thing Doctor Who. We started as a group a friends just doing cosplay photography together and quickly realized we were all very creative and passionate people. Things just sort of snowballed from there and, well, joking lead to ideas, ideas lead to discussions, discussions lead to planning, and planning lead to the creation of The Whovian Complex. Whether it be from convention coverage, episode recaps, short Doctor Who themed skits, cosplay photos, anything. We’re excited to just be out there and doing what we love.

 

Lauren:
TWC is a little group is great friends who love them some Doctor Who. Katie and I have been good friends for a long time and one of our favorite things to do is cosplay photo shoots. We’d been eyeing a shoot with Nate as his Twelve for a while and finally invited him and the lovely Monica out for one and it just clicked. The pictures were great and the chemistry was better. We decided to keep it up and started putting together plans for meet-ups and videos and maybe a podcast next. We know we are good together and can’t wait to keep putting more Whovian content out there for other fans to enjoy too.

 

2) What do you love about Doctor Who?

Monica:
I love that it’s a show that I can watch and share with my kids. I love that the Doctor has a screwdriver. No gun, no weapons. He values all life. His companions are ordinary people, who are brilliant, wonderful and kind. I love that in this age of dark super heroes, there is a hero like The Doctor for my kids to look up to.

Katie:
This is a difficult question but I’ll try to keep this brief, plain and simple. I fell in love with The Doctor. The idea of being swept away from a mundane life by a man who thinks you are incredible and to join him in helping others is something that keeps me coming back to this show every season.

Nate:
I love how Doctor Who is all-inclusive. Of all and time and space, there seems to be this defining message that everyone and everything is beautiful and important. There is not one creature that I can think of that has ever been condemned for their actions. They are always given a second chance to either change their ways to yield before The Doctor takes action. Even, of all people, The Master and Davros have been given chances after all they’ve done. Granted, The Doctor is not a perfect being, he is a good man. His intentions are morally solid and I like that he is a positive role model for children and adults alike.

 

Lauren:
Man. I love that Doctor Who is about adventure and friendship and forgiveness. Not just forgiving others but forgiving yourself. The guilt the Doctor feels about what happened during the Time War is familiar. Not that I’ve caused the destruction of my home planet but I can be too hard on myself and learning to forgive myself and move on is important.
Another reason I love Doctor Who is the message of friendship and deep connections with people who will eventually have to end. But that isn’t a reason to not have them. The Doctor will outlive all these humans he loves so much but he still takes them away on adventures even though he knows he’ll miss them when they’re gone.
And the people he chooses for companions! These average people get swept up and he shows them just how special they actually are. That they are smart and good and deserving of the universe that he takes them to see.

 

3) When did you first become a Whovian?

Monica:
I first became a Whovian in 2012. Nate and our older son were hooked on it. I’d walk by them and tease them about how cheesy it all looked. Then I sat down and watched one episode with them, one episode was all it took. I was hooked.

Katie:
I first became a Whovian back in early 2011. I was just fresh off watching the first season of Sherlock when I read that the writers behind it were also writers on Who. I had heard whisperings about it as I was growing up but never had an interest. However once I found out that Moffat and Gatiss’ were at the helm I knew the time to bring my geeky-ness to a whole new level had arrived. Needless to say I’ve been hooked ever since.

Nate:
It was about three to four years ago when I really started paying attention to Doctor Who. I had a friend who would constantly talk about it on Facebook and, knowing his tastes, I was interested in it as well. The problem was, at the time, I wasn’t really watching much television at all. Even then, I didn’t have the BBC to watch it, even if I wanted to. Then, Monica’s brother was watching the series at their house and I sat down to watch it. from there, I was hook. I saw a few Tennant episodes and decided I’d really give the show a try. So, like a good little Whovian, I stated the series off with Nine (because you don’t skip Nine) and completed the series from there. After I was caught up with NuWho, I went back and watched the Doctor Who Movie with McGann and worked backwards into the classics from there.

 

Lauren:
Katie tried to get me to watch Who about five years ago and I just didn’t take to it. Then two years later I went through a bit of a rough patch and decided to try watching it again and then POOF. I fell in love. It was exactly what I needed. Katie says that I just wasn’t ready for it. I was five seasons in when I got my tattoo and it’s still one of my most favorite decisions I ever made. So I didn’t fall long ago, but I fell hard.

 

4) Who is you favourite Doctor?

Monica:
That’s really a hard one. I love so many Doctors. I have a very special place in my heart for Matt Smith. He was my first Doctor and so I have a special connection to him (and The Ponds as well). However, Capaldi has definitely started to take up a lot of room in my heart. There is something so fresh and so wonderful about Capaldi. I hope he stays on forever!

Katie:
This is always a loaded question for me. But depending on my mood and please note this is ONLY in numeric order, 8, 9 and 12. My precious boys.

Nate:
Twelve! Honestly, I loved Nine and always will but Twelve is The Doctor I’ve been waiting for. He speaks to me on a personal level and parallels my own self and personality. Plus, he has an AMAZING fashion sense. Especially in this coming season.

 

Lauren:
My favorite Doctor is Ten but closely followed by Nine, Eleven and Twelve all tied for second.


5) What is next for the Whovian Complex?

Monica:
We probably have more ideas and more excitement about what’s next than we can contain. There is definitely more cosplay on the way. We currently are set to cover the Whovian side of some local conventions here in California. Including the highly anticipated Gallifrey One Convention in 2016. Now that the new season has started, I’m hoping we can start on some episode recaps.

Katie:
I hope what’s next for TWC is more interactions with fans like you! We want to speak with people who are just as passionate about Who as we are. We want to visit more conventions and do more photoshoots in our cosplays and shoot lots of videos while we do it!

Nate:
Spoilers… 🙂


Lauren:

Hmm. What’s next for TWC? Good question. More fan meet ups, more photo shoots, more fun videos, podcast maybe? Making more friends in the fandom and sharing what we love with others who love it too.

 

6) All of time and space, where would you most like to travel to and why?

Monica:
Wow! No idea! As Clara said when 11 asked her what she wanted to see: “Something Awesome”.

Katie:
Another very tough question. I gave this a few days thought and have come to the decision that if I had the Tardis and a Doctor willing to take me anywhere, backwards or forwards, I think I’d request the opportunity to visit my great-grandma (on my Grandma’s side). I’ve heard so many incredible stories about her from my Grandma and my mother that I couldn’t let the opportunity pass me by to get to know her. If only briefly.

Nate:
I’m not sure, to be honest. I think I’d much rather just hit the switch and see what happens.


Lauren:

I think I would like to go to Ancient Rome or Chicago in the 1920s!

Check them out on:
2 thoughts on “Interview: WHOVIAN COMPLEX

Leave a Comment

